Glasgow Club Scene
Our resident expert Phall muses over Scottish Club Rugby, giving us his predictions and punditry.

Club Rugby Archives

Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


February 26, 2010

Crunch match for Ayr

Paul Burke starts for Ayr but the flanker was in Glasgow colours last week
Ayr take on Pontypridd in the penultimate Pool D fixture of the inaugural British and Irish Cup at Millbrae tomorrow (ko 3.30pm).

The top four teams in the tightly contested group are separated by just a single point: Doncaster Knights and Rotherham Titans top the table with 10 points (Doncaster with a game in hand) while Ayr and Cardiff are on nine. Pontypridd are in fifth place.

With the pool so close, and Rotherham and Cardiff going head-to-head this weekend, the match which is expected to see around 400 traveling Ponty fans descend upon Millbrae, is crucial to the Ayrshire clubs chances of qualification.

Scrum-half AJ Macfarlane will start the match with Jamie Hunter coming in at stand-off.

Hunter’s arrival sees the competition’s top point scorer, Frazier Climo, move out on place to inside-centre.

Gary Strain is the latest Glasgow Hawk to turn out for Ayr.

Ayr coach Kenny Murray said: “Our last outing in this competition was against Birmingham and Solihull, at home, where we enjoyed an excellent 49-17 victory.

“Saturday’s opponents, Pontypridd, will provide a stern test as they are a strong, aggressive team and are lying third in the Principality Premiership behind Neath and Swansea.”

Looking ahead to the fixture he added: “We have really enjoyed this tournament. The players, coaches and club officials are keen to maintain a good home record not just for Ayr but Scottish Rugby too.”

Crucial to the permutations of qualification is that, while Doncaster and Ayr face the lowest and second-lowest teams in the group (both of whom are yet to register a win), Rotherham travel for a crucial clash against Cardiff.


15 Dougie Steele

14 Johnny McClung
13 Ross Curle
12 Frazier Climo
11 Cammy Taylor

10 Jamie Hunter
9 AJ MacFarlane

1 Gordon Reid
2 Stuart Fenwick
3 Gordon Sykes
4 Damien Kelly CAPTAIN
5 Scott Sutherland
6 Johnno Crossan
7 Paul Burke
8 Andy Dunlop


16 Stephen Adair
17 Gary Strain
18 Duncan MacLeod
19 Glen Tippett
20 Blair McPherson
21 Andy Wilson
22 Steven Manning

© | Send a message to the author.

Add a comment to this article