Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow Warriors v Treviso

Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


January 04, 2013

Glasgow Warriors 41 - 7 Treviso

GUINNESS PRO12 match played at Scotstoun on Friday January 4th 2013 | No comments

Stuart Hoggg went over for two tries
Glasgow Warriors took advantage of an early Treviso red card to secure a bonus-point win at Scotstoun tonight.

Glasgow scored five tries through DTH van der Merwe, Stuart Hogg (2), Tommy Seymour and Nikola Matawalu.

Ruaridh Jackson slotted five kicks and collected the man of the match award. Duncan Weir also added to the scoring with two late conversions.

The home side were unable to keep a clean sheet though, as Treviso scored a second half try.

The Warriors fielded a strong line-up, making only three changes from the side which clinched the 1872 Cup at Murrayfield.

Dougie Hall made his 100th appearance for the club and Graeme Morrison started his first match since October.

Gregor Townsend's decision to play an experienced 15 paid off as his side sped into an early lead.

After just three minutes, Jackson slammed the ball between the posts from close range.

Treviso were then struck a huge blow with just five minutes on the clock when Manoa Vosawai was sent packing following a dangerous tackle on Glasgow skipper Al Kellock.

Glasgow looked to take advantage of the extra man on the field and it was not long before they doubled their lead with Jackson making no mistake from a penalty.

With 25 minutes gone, Warriors sailed into a 13-0 lead following a converted try.

The move started on the flank where Hogg and Seymour combined before the winger's kick was pounced on by DTH van der Merwe, who notched his eighth try of the season.

Treviso looked disorganised and three minutes later they found themselves 20-0 down.

An attempted charge down by Stuart Hogg forced Luke McLean to perform an unconvincing clearance. Glasgow immediately attacked through Ryan Wilson, who marauded forward before passing to Hogg - and he made no mistake in sprinting towards the try line. Jackson continued his good form and collected the extra points.

As the half drew to a close, Treviso made attempts to get on the scoreboard but they proved in vain after a misplaced pass metres from the line cost them dear.

Tommy Seymour intercepted the loose ball and rampaged towards the opposite end of the pitch - and before the half-time whistle blew, Jackson was able to extend Warriors lead to 27-0.

In the second period Treviso struck first with a try from Francesco Minto, following a chipped kick which was converted by Kristopher Burton.

Treviso made a vast improvement from their disappointing first half showing but Warriors were still able to add to the scoresheet. A darting run from pacey substitute Nikola Matawalu led to a try and Duncan Weir was able to convert.

Stuart Hogg went over for his second try late in the game and Weir was on hand to make the score 41-7 and add to Treviso's misery.

Gregor Townsend said afterwards: "There is no doubt the red card helped us, but Treviso are a very good side. Their position in the table is testament to that and they've got six wins already this season. We saw in the latter part of the first half and into the second forty that they were willing to have a go and put pressure on our defence.

"But I'm very pleased we scored five tries and took the bonus point in the end, that was a big target for us as we went into the second half.

"We're on a good run at the moment, three wins in a row and that's something we can build on and take a lot of positives from."

Referee Leo Colgan (Ireland)
Attendance 3,605
Man of the Match Ruaridh Jackson
Ryan Grant
Dougie Hall
Moray Low
Tim Swinson
Alastair Kellock
Josh Strauss
Robert Harley
Ryan Wilson
Henry Pyrgos
Ruaridh Jackson
DTH van der Merwe
Graeme Morrison
Alex Dunbar
Tommy Seymour
Stuart Hogg
Pat MacArthur
Gordon Reid
German Araoz
Tom Ryder
James Eddie
Nikola Matawalu
Duncan Weir
Peter Murchie
Match Substitutions
Off On
Ryan Wilson James Eddie
Off On
Moray Low German Araoz
Off On
Alastair Kellock Tom Ryder
Off On
Ruaridh Jackson Duncan Weir
Off On
Dougie Hall Pat MacArthur
Off On
Tommy Seymour Nikola Matawalu
Off On
Alex Dunbar Peter Murchie
Off On
Ryan Grant Gordon Reid
Ruaridh Jackson Penalty
Ruaridh Jackson Penalty
DTH van der Merwe Try 
Ruaridh Jackson Conversion
Stuart Hogg Try 
Ruaridh Jackson Conversion
Tommy Seymour Try 
Ruaridh Jackson Conversion
Nikola Matawalu Try 
Duncan Weir Conversion
Stuart Hogg Try 
Duncan Weir Conversion