Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh

Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

December 30, 2017

Glasgow Warriors 17 - 0 Edinburgh

GUINNESS PRO14 match played at Scotstoun on Saturday December 30th 2017 | No comments

Four penalties from Finn Russell helped Warriors to the win
Warriors ran out 17-0 winners over Edinburgh in this afternoon's PRO14 meeting at Scotstoun.

Lee Jones' late try and Finn Russell's four penalties gave Glasgow to their 11th PRO14 win of the season.

Following Edinburgh's victory at Murrayfield, Warriors' win levels the 1872 Cup series, which is played over three fixtures this term, with the decisive final meeting taking place in late April.

It was a long afternoon for the players and supporters when, after 38 minutes and with Glasgow 3-0 ahead, the stadium was evacuated due to a fire alarm in the North Stand.

Play resumed after a lengthy delay with the start of the second half - the remaining one minute, 59 seconds of the first was written off.

Glasgow made a positive start, but just like last weekend, the game deteriorated as indiscipline and errors punctuated any creativity .

A surge by centre Alex Dunbar blasted through a pair tacklers and play was brought back for a penalty which Russell stroked over.

The hosts continued to press, doing particularly well at the set scrums, but let themselves down with errors. In turn, when Edinburgh got their chance to apply pressure, it took sharp work by Ruaridh Jackson, Russell and Ali Price to keep the home line secure.

Glasgow twice took play into the visitors' 22 as half-time approached, but the forwards' pick-and-go was halted by referee Mike Adamson penalising tackling ahead of the ball.

The fire alarm two minutes before the interval forced the fans to leave the stadium and when the players reappeared after a prolonged interval, Russell swiftly doubled Glasgow's lead with a long-range penalty.

Russell then turned down a second chance to pot a goal, but Edinburgh held up the Glasgow line-out drive. However, Russell did opt to kick in the 57th minute, and put his side 9-0 ahead.

The teams largely cancelled each other out as the game wore on, with the occasional piece of inspiration immediately countered by an error.

A high Edinburgh tackle was punished by Russell's fourth penalty with six minutes left on the clock.

And Glasgow tightened the screw in the Edinburgh 22 with wing Jones touching down for an unconverted try which provoked a punch-up that earned yellow cards for home replacement Chris Fusaro and visiting substitute Fraser McKenzie.

Following last weekend's 18-17 reverse at Murrayfield against the same opposition, in which Warriors failed to overcome a team playing with 14 men for 74 minutes, Dave Rennie was satisfied with the victory even if it was not one of his side's better displays this season.

"I'm pretty pleased with that," the New Zealander said. "It's what was required.

"We talked about limiting off-loads and being a bit more direct, building some pressure. It wasn't pretty but we played the game at the right end of the field and forced Edinburgh to play from deep. They made a few mistakes and we profited off it.

"It was tougher mentally tonight. We had to be prepared to grind out a win and you need that at times."

With 11 wins from 12 PRO14 fixtures so far this season, Rennie feels his side has an excellent platform on which to build in 2018.

"We've got ourselves into a pretty strong position," he said. "We've got a lot of growth in us

"We've used a number of players and have a handful coming back soon which is exciting. We've learned a lot about some good young kids and hopefully that creates a lot of competition for places at the business end.

"We've still got a lot to go in terms of getting the perfect game out there."

Referee Mike Adamson (Scotland)
Attendance 7,351
Man of the Match Zander Fagerson
Jamie Bhatti
Fraser Brown
Zander Fagerson
Kiran McDonald
Jonny Gray
Robert Harley
Matt Smith
Matt Fagerson
Ali Price
Finn Russell
Nikola Matawalu
Alex Dunbar
Nick Grigg
Lee Jones
Ruaridh Jackson
Pat MacArthur
Oli Kebble
Siua Halanukonuka
Greg Peterson
Chris Fusaro
George Horne
Peter Horne
Huw Jones
Match Substitutions
Off On
Fraser Brown Pat MacArthur
Off On
Alex Dunbar Peter Horne
Off On
Ali Price George Horne
Off On
Jamie Bhatti Alex Allan
Off On
Zander Fagerson Siua Halanukonuka
Off On
Kiran McDonald Greg Peterson
Off On
Matt Smith Chris Fusaro
Off On
Nick Grigg Huw Jones