Glasgow Warriors | Mark McMillan picks up Scotland U21 award

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


May 23, 2004

Mark McMillan picks up Scotland U21 award

Posted by Editor on May 23, 2004 10:37 AM | 2 comments | Print | E-mail author

Mark McMillan is Scotland U21 Player of the Year
Mark McMillan picked up the Scotland U21 Player of the Year at the Scottish Rugby Awards dinner.

The Stirling County scrum-half will be leaving Glasgow to play with Leeds next season.

Colin Gregor was named as Scotland sevens player of the year. The Watsonians' fly-half made a couple of appearances for Glasgow this season as a stand-in during the Six Nations.

Glasgow Hawks were the BT Premiership Team of the Year with their coach Peter Wright named Coach of the Year.

Interestingly, Iain Ramage picked up the Referee of the Year award at the dinner in Edinburgh.

The winners in the club categories were voted for by the clubs (e.g. the winner of the BT National League Division One player award was voted for by the players of all clubs in that particular division). The Spirit of Rugby Award was also determined by a club vote.

The national age grade awards were voted for by the respective teams' management while the professional team awards were voted for by the team's season ticket holders. The Scotland player of the year was voted for by the international management team with the Rookie of the Year being determined by a public vote.

A panel of rugby experts was appointed by Scottish Rugby to determine the worthy winners of the Coach of the Year, Try of the Year, Referee of the Year and Scotland Womenís player of the Year awards.

The winners are:

Player's Player of the Year
BT Premiership 1Rod Seib (Aberdeen GSFP)
BT Premiership 2Andrew Dunlop (Biggar )
BT Premiership 3Colin Young (Berwick)
BT National 1Hamish Reid (Edinburgh University)
BT National 2David Gemmell (Hamilton)
BT National 3Matt Smith (Perthshire)
BT National 4Ryan Hogg (Hawick YM)
BT National 5 (East)Craig Panther (Forrester)
BT National 5 (West)Donald Brodie (Lenzie)
BT National 5 (Caledonia)Guillermo Casado (Mackie Academy)
Coach of the Year
BT PremiershipPeter Wright (Glasgow Hawks)
BT National LeaguesAlex Duncan (Ellon)
Team of the Year
BT PremiershipGlasgow Hawks
BT National LeaguesPerthshire
Spirit of Rugby
Stuart Henderson
Outstanding School/Club in Age Grade Rugby
Try of the Year
Derrick Lee (Edinburgh Rugby) v Leinster at Murrayfield
Try of the Year
Edinburgh RugbySimon Webster
Glasgow RugbySean Lamont
The BordersChris Cusiter
Scotland Womenís RugbyLucy Millard (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Scotland U18Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Academy)
Scotland U19Alan MacDonald (Heriotís)
Scotland U21Mark McMillan (Stirling County)
Scotland SevensColin Gregor (Watsonians)
Rookie of the YearTom Philip (Edinburgh Rugby)
ScotlandScott Murray (Edinburgh Rugby)
Referee of the Year
Iain Ramage (Berwick)
Fair Play Award
BT Premiership 1Boroughmuir
BT Premiership 2Dundee HSFP
BT Premiership 3Berwick
BT National 1Edinburgh University
BT National 2Ellon
BT National 3Highland
BT National 4Morgan Academy FP
BT National 5 (East)Inverleith
BT National 5 (West) AClydebank
BT National 5 (West) BStrathclyde Police
BT National 5 (Caledonia) ARAF Lossiemouth
BT National 5 (Caledonia) BRoss Sutherland
Posted by Highlandbrave75 on May 24, 2004 12:09 AM | Reply to this comment

Congratulations to Mark & to everyone else who won awards for their efforts this season!

Posted by Phall on May 25, 2004 07:05 PM | Reply to this comment

Ramage, referee of the year. What? Were ALL the other referees in the world excluded!!!!

Add a comment to this article

If you're replying to an existing comment, please use the 'Reply to this comment' link above the entry. This will display the comments in a way which is far easier for other readers to follow.