Glasgow Warriors | Two Warriors in Lions squad

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


April 19, 2017

Two Warriors in Lions squad

Posted by Editor on April 19, 2017 12:36 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Tommy Seymour will tour with the Lions
Glasgow's Stuart Hogg and Tommy Seymour are the only two Scots selected in 41-man British & Irish Lions squad for the tour of New Zealand.

The 10-game tour will begin on Saturday 3 June when they'll face Provincial Union Team in Whangarei.

Other games include an encounter with Dave Rennie's Chiefs on Tuesday 20 June, while the three Tests against New Zealand will be played on Saturday 24 June, Saturday 1 July and Saturday 8 July.

Stuart Hogg was the youngest player included on the 2013 Lions Tour to Australia, and although he didn't break into the Test team, he made five appearances.

It will be the first time Tommy has toured with the British & Irish Lions.

Backs: Dan Biggar (Ospreys, Wales), Elliot Daly (Wasps, England), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets, Wales), Owen Farrell (Saracens, England), Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon, Wales), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, England), Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland), George North (Northampton Saints, Wales), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, England), Jared Payne (Ulster Rugby, Ireland), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland), Ben Te'o (Worcester Warriors, England), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England), Rhys Webb (Ospreys, Wales), Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, England).

Forwards: Rory Best (Ulster Rugby, Ireland), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, England), Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby, Wales), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), Jamie George (Saracens, England), Iain Henderson (Ulster Rugby, Ireland), Maro Itoje (Saracens, England), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, Wales), George Kruis (Saracens, England), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England), Joe Marler (Harlequins, England), Jack McGrath (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby, Wales), Sean O'Brien (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), Peter O'Mahony (Munster Rugby, Ireland), Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, England), CJ Stander (Munster Rugby, Ireland), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys, Wales), Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England), Billy Vunipola (Saracens, England), Sam Warburton (Captain, Cardiff Blues, Wales).