Glasgow Warriors | Changes to Commonwealth Games squad

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


April 10, 2018

Changes to Commonwealth Games squad

Posted by Editor on April 10, 2018 04:32 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Matt Fagerson has been forced out of the Scotland Sevens squad
Head Coach John Dalziel today has named two injury-enforced changes to the Team Scotland Rugby Sevens squad to compete in the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (Saturday/Sunday 14/15 April).

Scotland 7s core squad player Gavin Lowe (hamstring) and Glasgow Warriors back-row Matt Fagerson (ongoing hamstring complaint), have returned home and have been replaced by Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby) and Robbie Fergusson (Scotland 7s), both of whom were part of the extended squad at the Hong Kong leg of the World Rugby Sevens Series.

The team will face Papua New Guinea, Malaysia and South Africa in Pool A, from which only the top-ranked team will advance to the semi-finals for a chance to take home a medal.

Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games: Day One
Scotland v Papua New Guinea (ko 11.43 hrs, 02:43 hrs UK time)
Scotland v Malaysia (ko 18:15 hrs, 09:15 hrs UK time)
South Africa v Scotland (ko 22:17 hrs, 13:17 hrs UK time)

Scotland Rugby 7s squad for the 2018 Commonwealth Games, Gold Coast

Glenn Bryce (Edinburgh Rugby)
Jamie Farndale (Scotland 7s)
Robbie Fergusson (Scotland 7s)
James Fleming (Scotland 7s)
Nyle Godsmark (Scotland 7s)
Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby)
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors)
Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors)
Max McFarland (Scotland 7s / Glasgow Warriors)
Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby)
Jo Nayacavou (Scotland 7s)
Scott Riddell (Scotland 7s)