Glasgow Warriors | Scotland team to face USA

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


June 13, 2018

Scotland team to face USA

Posted by Editor on June 13, 2018 03:23 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

George Horne makes his Scotland debut
Glasgow's George Horne and Matt Fagerson will make their international debuts in Saturday's Test against USA in Houston.

19-year old Fagerson starts at number 8 following an impressive season for the Warriors that saw him named Young Scottish Player of the Year.

Scrum-half Horne was named Player of the Season and Young Player of the Season at the Glasgow Warriors end of season awards dinner, as well as finishing as the club's top try scorer in his first season as a professional and makes the step up to international level in Houston.

Horne partners newly capped Adam Hastings at half-back, the fly-half making his first start having come off the bench to make his debut against Canada last weekend.

Peter Horne has been named as vice-captain and partners Warriors teammate Nick Grigg in midfield.

It's a full Warriors front row - George Turner starting in the middle of Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson.

Tim Swinson has also been named as a vice-captain, starting on the blindside flank.

Stuart Hogg will captain his country for the first time.

Fraser Brown's inclusion on the bench makes it a total of eleven Warriors in the match day 23.

Glasgow Warriors

15 Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors

14 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)
13 Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors)
12 Peter Horne VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks)

10 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
9 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors)
2 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh)
5 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
6 Tim Swinson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)
7 Luke Hamilton (unattached)
8 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Allan Dell (Edinburgh)
18 Murray McCallum (Edinburgh)
19 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)
20 David Denton (Leicester Tigers)
21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Scarlets)
22 Mark Bennett (Edinburgh)
23 Dougie Fife (Edinburgh)