Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow team to take on Southern Kings

Next article
No more entries
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


September 21, 2018

Glasgow team to take on Southern Kings

Posted by Editor on September 21, 2018 11:50 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Huw Jones starts against Southern Kings
Dave Rennie has named his Glasgow team to take on Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth tomorrow (ko 2.00pm, UK time).

Having made his return from injury off the bench against the Toyota Cheetahs last weekend, Huw Jones starts and is one of nine changes to the starting XV that won 52-24 in Bloemfontein.

Jones is joined in midfield by Nick Grigg who has recovered from illness to start.

It is an unchanged back-three, with DTH van der Merwe and Tommy Seymour, who both scored against the Cheetahs, starting either side of Ruairdh Jackson.

Peter Horne moves inside to fly-half and is partnered by Nick Frisby who makes his first competitive start for the club.

It is a brand new front-row as Jamie Bhatti and D'arcy Rae pack down either side of George Turner.

Greg Peterson comes into the second-row to partner Scott Cummings while behind them Ryan Wilson captains the side wearing number 6. Chris Fusaro and Adam Ashe are his loose forward partners.

On the bench Robbie Nairn is in line to make his Glasgow Warriors debut having flown to South Africa earlier this week and Kevin Bryce could feature for the first time since re-joining the club this summer.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie, said: "We've made a handful of changes with Pete Horne moving to 10, Nick Grigg back from illness and it's great to give Huw Jones a start, so it's an exciting pairing.

"I thought our back-three were outstanding against The Cheetahs and we're fortunate that we've got really good depth at scrum-half and we're keen to give Nick a crack and he deserves a start.

"Robbie Nairn is a big guy and he's very quick, so I'm excited to see him make his debut tomorrow."

Glasgow Warriors

15 Ruaridh Jackson

14 Tommy Seymour
13 Huw Jones
12 Nick Grigg
11 DTH van der Merwe

10 Peter Horne
9 Nick Frisby

1 Jamie Bhatti
2 George Turner
3 D'arcy Rae
4 Greg Peterson
5 Scott Cummings
6 Ryan Wilson (Captain)
7 Chris Fusaro
8 Adam Ashe


16 Fraser Brown
17 Alex Allan
18 Kevin Bryce
19 Robert Harley
20 Callum Gibbins
21 Ali Price
22 Adam Hastings
23 Robbie Nairn

Touring players unavailable: Zander Fagerson (ankle) and Oli Kebble (head)