Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow team to face Dragons

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


September 28, 2018

Glasgow team to face Dragons

Posted by Editor on September 28, 2018 06:09 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Nikola Matawalu starts for Glasgow
Dave Rennie has made 11 changes to his starting XV as Glasgow Warriors welcome the Dragons to Scotstoun on Saturday night (ko 7.35pm).

Adam Hastings returns at fly-half, the 21-year-old has a 100 percent kicking record this season and has earned two man-of-the-match medals. He is joined at half-back by Ali Price.

Outside of them, Alex Dunbar starts at inside centre, partnering Huw Jones in midfield.

Neither Lee Jones or Nikola Matawalu travelled to South Africa and they are both promoted to the starting XV for the first game back on home soil. They join Ruaridh Jackson in the back-three.

Up front Oli Kebble will look to continue his dominant start to the season at loose-head. Fraser Brown also comes in alongside join D'arcy Rae to complete the front-row.

Robert Harley and Jonny Gray both return to the engine room, while behind them are co-captains Ryan Wilson and Callum Gibbins, either side of Matt Fagerson who is starting his first game of the season.

On the bench, Andrew Davidson is in line to make his Warriors debut, having joined on a short-term deal from Newcastle Falcons last month.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: "The Dragons have recruited really well over the summer.

"They have already won a couple of games and we expect them to be very competitive and we’re going to have to work really hard to get a result.

"It's great to get Niko Matawalu back in the mix and Lee Jones back from injury this weekend and we're looking forward to being back at Scotstoun tomorrow night."

Glasgow Warriors

15 Ruaridh Jackson

14 Lee Jones
13 Huw Jones
12 Alex Dunbar
11 Nikola Matawalu

10 Adam Hastings
9 Ali Price

1 Oli Kebble
2 Fraser Brown
3 D'arcy Rae
4 Robert Harley
5 Jonny Gray
6 Ryan Wilson (Co-Captain)
7 Callum Gibbins (Co-Captain)
8 Matt Fagerson


16 George Turner
17 Alex Allan
18 Adam Nicol
19 Andrew Davidson
20 Chris Fusaro
21 George Horne
22 Brandon Thomson
23 Nick Grigg

Players unavailable through injury: Adam Ashe (neck), Brian Alainu'uese (back) Scott Cummings (ankle), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Siua Halanukonuka (foot), Stuart Hogg (ankle), Sam Johnson (head / knee), Kiran McDonald (hand), Tim Swinson (lower limb) and DTH van der Merwe (groin)