Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow team for Cardiff trip

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


October 19, 2018

Glasgow team for Cardiff trip

Posted by Editor on October 19, 2018 11:42 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Sam Johnson returns to the Glasgow line-up
Dave Rennie has named his Glasgow Warriors team for Sunday's Champions Cup trip to Cardiff Blues.

Sam Johnson starts his first game since picking up an injury in the Warriors' pre-season game against Northampton Saints. Earlier in the week the centre was named in Gregor Townsend's Scotland squad for the 2018 Autumn Tests.

Johnson is joined in midfield by Huw Jones, and they both start outside of the same half-back pairing that played against Saracens at Scotsotun last Sunday.

DTH van der Merwe and Lee Jones start on the wings again and Tommy Seymour returns to the staring XV at full-back.

On the bench, Scott Cummings returns to the matchday squad to cover the second-row and Nikola Matawalu will look to add his spark to the game when he comes on.

Dave Rennie said: "Sam (Johnson) was excellent for us last year and has worked hard to recover from an injury he picked up in pre-season.

"He's got a really good skillset and communicates well and he's excited to get back out there.

"We were happy with our physicality and the effort we saw against Saracens and we'll need to be just as aggressive against Cardiff who picked up a good win in France in Round 1."

Glasgow Warriors

15 Tommy Seymour

14 Lee Jones
13 Huw Jones
12 Sam Johnson
11 DTH van der Merwe

10 Adam Hastings
9 Ali Price

1 Oli Kebble
2 Fraser Brown
3 D'arcy Rae
4 Robert Harley
5 Jonny Gray
6 Ryan Wilson (Co-Captain)
7 Callum Gibbins (Co-Captain)
8 Matt Fagerson


16 George Turner
17 Alex Allan
18 Petrus du Plessis
19 Scott Cummings
20 Chris Fusaro
21 George Horne
22 Peter Horne
23 Nikola Matawalu

Not available due to injury: Alex Dunbar (head), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Siua Halanukonuka (foot), Stuart Hogg (ankle), Kiran McDonald (hand) and Tim Swinson (lower limb).