Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow team to take on Ospreys

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


January 24, 2019

Glasgow team to take on Ospreys

Posted by Editor on January 24, 2019 11:57 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Stafford McDowall starts for Warriors
Glasgow Warriors have named an experienced side for tomorrow's PRO14 clash against Ospreys at Scotstoun Stadium (ko 7.35pm).

Deputising for Dave Rennie, who is in New Zealand at a family wedding, Assistant Coach Kenny Murray has been boosted by the return of ten players from Scotlandís Guinness Six Nations squad.

Robert Harley, Matt Smith and Adam Ashe both return from camp to start in the back-row, Harley captaining the side from the blind-side flank.

Tim Swinson has also been released to play, partnering Scott Cummings in the engine room behind a front-row of Alex Allan, Kevin Bryce and Siua Halanukonuka.

Lee Jones starts on one wing with Nikola Matawalu on the opposite side, the Fijian scored a hat-trick off the bench in the reverse fixture at the Liberty Stadium. Ruaridh Jackson starts at full-back.

Nick Grigg was named Man of the Match in Swansea and he starts alongside Stafford McDowall in midfield.

Nick Frisby and Brandon Thomson are the half-backs.

On the bench, Partnership Player Thomas Gordon is in line to make his Warriors debut after coming through the Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy and impressing for Currie Chieftains in the Tennent's Premiership this season.

Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy Hooker Robbie Smith could also play his first game for the club.

Glasgow Warriors Assistant Coach Kenny Murray said: "This period of the season is crucial for us. We want to finish top of our Conference and secure a home semi-final and we're confident we can still achieve that.

"Ospreys have been playing some good stuff and are right on our tails, so we know we're going to have to be at our best.

"We went to Swansea earlier in the season with a squad not dissimilar to the one on the park tomorrow night and played really well, so we'll take confidence from that."

Glasgow Warriors

15 Ruaridh Jackson

14 Lee Jones
13 Nick Grigg
12 Stafford McDowall
11 Nikola Matawalu

10 Brandon Thomson
9 Nick Frisby

1 Alex Allan
2 Kevin Bryce
3 Siua Halanukonuka
4 Tim Swinson
5 Scott Cummings
6 Robert Harley (Captain)
7 Matt Smith
8 Adam Ashe


16 Robbie Smith
17 Jamie Bhatti
18 D'arcy Rae
19 Tevita Tameilau
20 Tom Gordon
21 Robbie Nairn
22 Alex Dunbar
23 Rory Hughes

Unavailable players:

Fraser Brown (knee), Matt Fagerson (shoulder), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Bruce Flockhart (ankle), Chris Fusaro (neck), Callum Gibbins (ankle/knee), Oli Kebble (illness), DTH van der Merwe (hip) and George Turner (ankle)

Jonny Gray, Grant Stewart, Ryan Wilson, Sam Johnson, Adam Hastings, Stuart Hogg, George Horne, Peter Horne, Huw Jones, Ali Price, Tommy Seymour (All Scotland)