Glasgow Warriors | Callum Gibbins returns to skipper Glasgow

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


March 22, 2019

Callum Gibbins returns to skipper Glasgow

Posted by Editor on March 22, 2019 01:38 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Callum Gibbins returns to action for Warriors
Callum Gibbins will skipper Glasgow Warriors against Toyota Cheetahs at Scotstoun Stadium tomorrow night.

Gibbins picked up an injury in Glasgow's Heineken Champions Cup victory over Cardiff Blues in January and returns to the starting line-up as the Warriors gear up for the business end of the season.

Matt Fagerson and Robert Harley join their captain in the back-row and pack down behind an unchanged lock pairing of Tim Swinson and Scott Cummings.

Fraser Brown starts having come off the bench for Scotland in their thrilling 38-38 draw in the Calcutta Cup last weekend. Oli Kebble and Zander Fagerson are named either side of him.

Peter Horne starts at fly-half with Nick Frisby his half-back partner. In midfield, Stafford McDowall and Kyle Steyn combine as they did in Glasgow's victory over Zebre at the start of the month.

Club centurions Ruaridh Jackson and Nikola Matawalu are joined by Rory Hughes in the back-three.

Adam Hastings is named on the bench, the 22-year-old also came on as a replacement at Twickenham on Super Saturday.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: "We're rapt with the results we've picked up over the Six Nations.

"We got 19 points out of a possible 20, which is the best record across the PRO14 and are really pleased with the depth we're starting to build throughout the squad.

"A lot is made of Cheetahs' ability in attack and we know how lethal they are off turnover pill, so our handling accuracy is going to have to be paramount, but they've got lots of other strings to their bow.

"They have a massive, athletic pack so our physicality is going to have to be at its best to deal with that aspect of their game too."

Glasgow Warriors

15 Ruaridh Jackson

14 Nikola Matawalu
13 Kyle Steyn
12 Stafford McDowall
11 Rory Hughes

10 Peter Horne
9 Nick Frisby

1 Oli Kebble
2 Fraser Brown
3 Zander Fagerson
4 Tim Swinson
5 Scott Cummings
6 Robert Harley
7 Callum Gibbins (Captain)
8 Matt Fagerson


16 Grant Stewart
17 Jamie Bhatti
18 Siua Halanukonuka
19 Bruce Flockhart
20 Chris Fusaro
21 Adam Hastings
22 Patrick Kelly
23 Robbie Nairn

Not available due to injury: Kevin Bryce (knee), Nick Grigg (ankle), Stuart Hogg (shoulder), George Horne (shoulder), Huw Jones (knee), Lee Jones (knee), Lelia Masaga (back), Kiran McDonald (back), Matt Smith (shoulder), George Turner (head), DTH van der Merwe (shoulder) and Ryan Wilson (knee)