Glasgow Warriors | Scotland training squad

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


May 07, 2019

Scotland training squad

Posted by Editor on May 7, 2019 06:07 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Grant Stewart has been included in Scotland's training no squad
Seventeen Glasgow Warriors have been named in Gregor Townsend's Scotland training squad for Rugby World Cup 2019.

Grant Stewart is the only uncapped Warrior to be selected while six of the seventeen have previous Rugby World Cup experience.

Stewart is one of three Glasgow Hookers to be named, along with Fraser Brown and George Tuner.

Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson represent Glasgow on each side of the front row, with Zander's brother Matt selected among the loose forwards.

Glasgow co-captain Ryan Wilson and Jonny Gray make it eight forwards in Townsend's group.

Scrum-half pair Ali Price and George Horne will compete for the same position, while Peter Horne makes it two pairs of Warriors brothers in the Scotland squad.

Guinness PRO14 Young Player of the Season Adam Hastings will look to build on his 11 caps. In midfield Nick Grigg, Sam Johnson and Huw Jones have all been named.

Glasgow centurions Stuart Hogg and Tommy Seymour are the Warriors representatives in the back three.

A further two spaces in the squad remain unfulfilled (one forward and one back) with Townsend keeping the door open for those operating at the business end of the season to play their way into the group.



John Barclay (Edinburgh)
Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors)
Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh)
Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
Allan Dell (Edinburgh)
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)
Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons)
Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
Stuart McInally (Edinburgh)
Willem Nel (Edinburgh)
Gordon Reid (London Irish)
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs)
Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors)
Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks)
Blade Thomson (Scarlets)
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)
Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)

BACKS (19)

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh)
Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors)
Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons)
Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)
Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors)
Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors)
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)
Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne)
Sean Maitland (Saracens)
Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks)
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh)
Finn Russell (Racing 92)
Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)
Duncan Taylor (Saracens)

SUMMER TESTS (times are local)
Saturday 17 August - France v Scotland; Allianz Stadium (kick-off 9pm)
Saturday 24 August - Scotland v France; BT Murrayfield (kick-off TBC)
Saturday 31 August - Georgia v Scotland; Dinamo Arena (kick-off TBC)
Friday 6 September - Scotland v Georgia; BT Murrayfield Stadium (kick-off TBC)

Sunday 22 September - Ireland v Scotland; International Stadium, Yokohama (kick-off 4.45pm)
Monday 30 September - Scotland v Samoa; Kobe Misaki Stadium (kick-off 7.15pm)
Wednesday 9 October - Scotland v Russia; Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa (4.15pm)
Sunday 13 October - Japan v Scotland; International Stadium Yokohama (7.45pm)