Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow team for PRO14 Final

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


May 24, 2019

Glasgow team for PRO14 Final

Posted by Editor on May 24, 2019 03:44 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Callum Gibbins will lead Glasgow into Saturday's PRO14 Final
Dave Rennie has named an unchanged starting XV for the Guinness PRO14 Final at Celtic Park.

Over 43,000 tickets have already been sold for tomorrow's game and sales are closing in on the PRO14 record of 46,092.

Rennie has stuck with the side that beat Ulster 50-20 at Scotstoun in the semi-final last Friday, the inclusion of Siua Halanukonuka on the bench the only change to the matchday 23.

Stuart Hogg will play his last game for the club, starting in a back-three with DTH van der Merwe who has scored in his two previous appearances in PRO14 finals and Tommy Seymour who scored a brace of tries against Ulster seven days ago.

Sam Johnson and Kyle Steyn start outside of Ali Price and Adam Hastings, Steyn and Price also both crossed the whitewash last Friday.

It's a full Scotland international front-row, Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson starting either side of Fraser Brown.

Scott Cummings and Jonny Gray pack down together again in the second-row, while in the back-row Robert Harley and Matt Fagerson start alongside captain Callum Gibbins.

Peter Horne's inclusion on the bench makes it eight players in the squad who featured in Glasgow's successful 2015 Final in Belfast.

Head Coach Rennie, said: "We're excited to represent our City and our families at what is going to be an amazing occasion for Glasgow.

"The noise that 10,000 people make in Scotstoun is deafening, so to play in front of more than 40,000 of our supporters is going to be a special experience.

"Leinster are a world class side with hardened finals experience, so we're going to have to play better than we have all season to lift the trophy."

Glasgow Warriors

Glasgow Warriors

15 Stuart Hogg

14 Tommy Seymour
13 Kyle Steyn
12 Sam Johnson
11 DTH van der Merwe

10 Adam Hastings
9 Ali Price

1 Jamie Bhatti
2 Fraser Brown
3 Zander Fagerson
4 Scott Cummings
5 Jonny Gray
6 Robert Harley
7 Callum Gibbins (Captain)
8 Matt Fagerson


16 Grant Stewart
17 Oli Kebble
18 Siua Halanukonuka
19 Ryan Wilson
20 Tom Gordon
21 George Horne
22 Peter Horne
23 Huw Jones

Unavailable players: Bruce Flockhart (shoulder), Chris Fusaro (hamstring), Matt Smith (shoulder), Tim Swinson (ankle) and George Turner (head).