Glasgow Warriors | Ryan Wilson to skipper Scotland against Georgia

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


September 04, 2019

Ryan Wilson to skipper Scotland against Georgia

Posted by Editor on September 4, 2019 02:08 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Ryan Wilson skippers Scotland against Georgia
Glasgow's Ryan Wilson will skipper his country for the first time in his senior international career when Scotland take on Georgia in the final warm-up match ahead of the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Wilson returns to the starting lineup having missed last weekend's victory in Tbilisi.

Jonny Gray makes his first appearance of the summer in the second-row, having shaken off a hamstring strain sustained earlier in pre-season.

He will partner club-mate Scott Cummings in the engine room, the same second-row pairing that started in the PRO14 Final at Celtic Park back in May.

Zander Fagerson is promoted to the starting XV following his appearance from the bench in Tbilisi, with the tighthead prop joined in the front-row by Glasgow team-mate George Turner.

Behind the scrum, Ali Price and Adam Hastings each start for the first time since opening match of the series in Nice as they look to set the tempo for Scotland's back-line.

Sam Johnson starts for the second successive Test at inside-centre, having made an impressive return to action in Georgia last weekend.

Tommy Seymour completes the Glasgow contingent in the starting XV, following the winger's successful completion of the return-to-play protocols after sustaining a concussion against France a fortnight ago.

Three more Warriors will be waiting in the wings for their chance to impress, with Grant Stewart joined by the Horne brothers on Scotland's bench.


15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)

14 Tommy Seymour VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Duncan Taylor (Saracens)
12 Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Darcy Graham (Edinburgh)

10 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Gordon Reid (Ayrshire Bulls)
2 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)
5 Jonny Gray VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Ryan Wilson CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)
7 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
8 Blade Thomson (Scarlets)


16 Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Allan Dell (Edinburgh)
18 Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)
19 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
20 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh)
21 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
23 Chris Harris (Gloucester)