Glasgow Warriors | Scotland team for Six Nations opener

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


January 30, 2020

Scotland team for Six Nations opener

Posted by Editor on January 30, 2020 03:19 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Adam Hastings makes his first Six Nations start
Nine Glasgow Warriors have been named in Scotland's matchday 23 for this weekend's clash with Ireland in the opening round of the 2020 Guinness Six Nations.

An all-Glasgow midfield combination will line up in the blue of Scotland on Saturday evening, as Huw Jones returns to the international setup to partner club-mate Sam Johnson.

Adam Hastings makes his first Six Nations start at fly-half, with Ali Price following up the news of his new contract with the Warriors by earning the nod at scrum-half.

Zander Fagerson is rewarded for his fine form this season with the starting berth at tight-head prop, joining vice-captain Fraser Brown in the Scotland front-row.

Gregor Townsend has also selected a familiar Warriors pairing in the second-row, as Scott Cummings continues his run of being part of every matchday 23 since his debut last summer by partnering Jonny Gray in the engine room.

The Glasgow contingent is completed by George Horne, the former Howe of Fife man in line to make his first championship appearance from the replacements bench.

Kick-off for Scotland's opening match of the 2020 Guinness Six Nations is at 4.45pm on Saturday evening, with the match live on STV and ITV.


15 Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs)

14 Sean Maitland (Saracens)
13 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors)
12 Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)

10 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh)
2 Fraser Brown VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)
5 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)
8 Nick Haining (Edinburgh)


16 Stuart McInally (Edinburgh)
17 Allan Dell (London Irish)
18 Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)
19 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
20 Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors)
21 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)
23 Chris Harris (Gloucester)