Glasgow Warriors | Scotland team to take on Italy

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site


February 19, 2020

Scotland team to take on Italy

Posted by Editor on February 19, 2020 09:50 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Scott Cummings continues in the second row
Eight Glasgow Warriors are in Scotland's matchday 23 to face Italy in Rome this weekend, as the Six Nations returns (ko 2.15pm).

Five of the Glasgow contingent will take to the field for the opening kick-off at the Stadio Olimpico, as Scotland look to continue a winning run in the Italian capital stretching back to 2012.

Zander Fagerson retains his place at tight-head prop, having started both championship matches to date in 2020.

Scott Cummings continues his record of starting every match since his championship debut against Ireland in round one by earning his third successive outing in the second-row.

Behind the scrum, Gregor Townsend elects to retain the half-back partnership of Ali Price and Adam Hastings as his side goes in search of an opening win in this year's championship.

Sam Johnson completes the quintet of Warriors in the starting XV, lining up at inside centre for the seventh time in Scotland's last eight Guinness Six Nations fixtures.

On the bench, Fraser Brown will be on hand to provide an experienced hand if and when called upon by Townsend - his tally of 48 caps is second only to captain Stuart Hogg in the matchday 23.

There's also a place for two try-scorers from Glasgow's victory over Zebre on Friday night; George Horne retains the number 21 shirt after his two-try showing at Scotstoun, whilst Matt Fagerson's impact upon his return from injury is rewarded with a first Scotland selection of 2020.


15 Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs)

14 Sean Maitland (Saracens)
13 Chris Harris (Gloucester)
12 Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)

10 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh)
2 Stuart McInally VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh)
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
5 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)
8 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh)


16 Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Allan Dell (London Irish)
18 Willem Nel (Edinburgh)
19 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)
20 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
21 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)
23 Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks)