Glasgow Warriors | New format for a Champions Cup

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

September 03, 2020

New format for a Champions Cup

Posted by Editor on September 3, 2020 04:40 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Heineken Champions Cup organisers EPCR have announced that the 2020/21 competition will follow a new structure, with the decision made on an exceptional basis due to the impact of COVID-19.

The format - which will only be used for the upcoming campaign before reverting to the traditional structure for 2021/22 - will see the competition expand to include 24 teams from Europe's top three leagues.

The qualified teams will be drawn into two pools of 12, with clubs separated into four tiers for the purposes of the pool draw.

The top two-ranked sides in each league will be allocated to Tier One, sides ranked three and four to Tier Two, fifth and sixth ranked teams to Tier Three and the remaining teams to Tier Four.

Each team will play two home matches and two away matches in the group stages against clubs from outwith their domestic league; Tier One teams will face those from Tier Four, and Tier Two sides will meet those from Tier Three.

Glasgow Warriors are projected to be a Tier Four team, yet final rankings will be confirmed prior to the pool stage draw.

The four highest-ranked teams in each pool will qualify for the quarter-finals, with the remaining teams entering the Challenge Cup at a new round-of-16 phase.

Matchday One fixtures are scheduled for the weekend of the 11/12/13 December 2020, and the Heineken Champions Cup Final will be held in Marseille on the weekend of 21/22 May 2021.