Glasgow Warriors | Fraser Brown to skipper Scotland

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

October 21, 2020

Fraser Brown to skipper Scotland

Posted by Editor on October 21, 2020 11:49 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Fraser Brown will skipper Scotland against Georgia
Fraser Brown will captain his country for the first time this weekend, after Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend named the hooker as captain for Friday night's meeting with Georgia at BT Murrayfield (ko 7.30pm).

The 31-year-old is one of nine Glasgow Warriors selected in the matchday 23, whilst his tally of 50 caps is more than any other player selected by Townsend for Scotland's first match in over seven months.

Brown is joined in the front-row by club-mate Zander Fagerson, with Scott Cummings continuing his remarkable run of international involvement by being named in a Scotland matchday squad for the 13th fixture in succession.

Matt Fagerson is selected at number eight, as the back-rower makes his first start for Scotland since last August's win over Georgia in Tbilisi.

A new role for Ali Price sees the scrum-half named as vice-captain for the first time in his career, with fly-half Adam Hastings completing the contingent of starting Warriors.

Oli Kebble is in line to make his international debut from the bench, after the loose-head prop's performances at the start of the 2020/21 season earned him a first Scotland call-up.

Also amongst the replacements is Robert Harley, who could make his first Scotland appearance since February 2019 on Friday night.

George Horne rounds out the Glasgow cohort, as the scrum-half continues his run of being named in every Scotland matchday 23 in 2020.


15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)

14 Darcy Graham (Edinburgh)
13 Chris Harris (Gloucester)
12 James Lang (Harlequins)
11 Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh)

10 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Ali Price VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh)
2 Fraser Brown CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
5 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Jamie Ritchie VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh)
7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)
8 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Stuart McInally (Edinburgh)
17 Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors)
18 Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)
19 Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors)
20 Nick Haining (Edinburgh)
21 Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors)
22 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
23 Finn Russell (Racing 92)