Glasgow Warriors | Six Warriors start for Scotland A

Next article
No more entries
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

June 26, 2021

Six Warriors start for Scotland A

Posted by Editor on June 26, 2021 10:56 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Kiran McDonald starts for Scotland A
Six Glasgow Warriors have been named in Scotland A's starting XV for tomorrow afternoon's meeting with England A.

Mike Blair's squad will be looking to defend a strong record against England A, with Scotland unbeaten in their last three meetings with the Auld Enemy.

After receiving an eleventh-hour call-up to the squad in the wake of nine players self-isolating, Stafford McDowall goes straight into the starting XV to line up at inside-centre for his first international outing since representing Scotland U20.

Ross Thompson sees his impressive Glasgow Warriors form in 2020/21 rewarded with a start at fly-half while Rufus McLean is on the wing.

Up front, Oli Kebble - the only capped Warrior selected for the clash - starts at tight-head for the first time in the dark blue of Scotland, shifting across the front row from his customary slot at loose-head.

Kiran McDonald is selected in the second-row with the Glasgow contingent completed by Rory Darge, who starts at openside flanker.

The match is live on Channel Four tomorrow afternoon, with kick-off at Welford Road scheduled for 2.00pm..

Scotland A team to play England A at Mattioli Woods Welford Road, Leicester.

15 Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby)

14 Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Matt Scott (Leicester Tigers)
12 Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)

10 Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Charlie Shiel (Edinburgh Rugby)

1 Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints)
2 Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks)
3 Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warrriors)
4 Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers)
5 Kiran McDonald (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby)
7 Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors)
8 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby)


16 Adam McBurney (Ulster Rugby)
17 Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights)
18 Javan Sebastian (Scarlets)
19 Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby)
20 Callum Hunter-Hill (Saracens)
21 Ben Vellacott (Wasps)
22 Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby)
23 George Taylor (Edinburgh Rugby)