Glasgow Warriors | Ali Price starts for the Lions

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

July 01, 2021

Ali Price starts for the Lions

Posted by Editor on July 1, 2021 05:51 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Ali Price starts for the British and Irish Lions
Glasgow's Ali Price will make his first start for the British and Irish Lions this weekend, with Zander Fagerson in line to make his debut after being named amongst the substitutes.

Price will pull on the number nine jersey against the Emirates Lions on Saturday afternoon and follows in the footsteps of former Warriors Mike Blair, Chris Cusiter and Andy Nicol, becoming the fourth Glasgow player in the professional era to be selected at scrum-half for the British and Irish Lions.

Meanwhile, tight-head prop Fagerson is set to make his first appearance on tour for Warren Gatland's side after being named in the bench.

He's first Glasgow prop to pull on the red jersey in 12 years, following in the footsteps of Euan Murray.

Fagerson had been due to start last weekend's win over Japan, but was forced to withdraw following an eleventh-hour knock.

Former Warriors Finn Russell and Stuart Hogg are also selected in the starting XV, with Hogg captaining the side from full-back.

British and Irish Lions team to face the Lions, Saturday 3 July 2021 (kick-off 5.00pm), Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg

15 Stuart Hogg - captain (Exeter, Scotland)

14 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby, Wales)
13 Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, England)
11 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby, Wales)

10 Finn Russell (Racing 92, Scotland)
9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)

1 Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, England)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, England)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, England)
5 Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, England)
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England)
7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland)
8 Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby, Wales)


16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England)
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England)
18 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
19 Iain Henderson (Ulster Rugby, Ireland)
20 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England)
21 Gareth Davies (Scarlets, Wales)
22 Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland)
23 Elliot Daly (Saracens, England)