Glasgow Warriors | Scotland team to take on Australia

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

November 05, 2021

Scotland team to take on Australia

Posted by Editor on November 5, 2021 05:21 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Matt Fagerson starts for Scotland
Nine Glasgow Warriors are included in Head Coach Gregor Townsend's Scotland squad to take on Australia in the Autumn Nations Series at Murrayfield on Sunday (ko 2.15pm).

Eight of the nine Warriors selected for Sunday's clash retain their places in the matchday 23, whilst only three of the Glasgow contingent were present during the most recent meeting between the two sides - a 53-24 victory for the men in blue back in November 2017.

The front-row is unchanged from last Saturday's 60-14 win over Tonga, meaning both George Turner - one of four Warriors to cross the whitewash last time out - and Zander Fagerson start at the coal face.

Matt Fagerson continues at number eight, having made more metres with ball in hand than any other Scottish forward last weekend.

Ali Price cedes the captaincy to regular skipper Stuart Hogg but continues at scrum-half, extending his run in the matchday 23 to 16 consecutive fixtures.

Sam Johnson joins club-mate Price in the starting back-line, having been defensively flawless with a 100% tackle success rate in the victory over Tonga.

Jamie Bhatti and Oli Kebble continue amongst the replacements, the latter having barged over for his first try in Scotland colours last Saturday.

George Horne is the sole Warrior in the matchday 23 that was not involved against Tonga, with the scrum-half replacing club-mate Jamie Dobie for Sunday afternoon's encounter.

The Glasgow cohort is completed by Kyle Steyn, as he looks to back up his history-making haul of four tries against Tonga if and when called upon from the bench.

The match kicks off at 2.15pm on Sunday, and is live on Amazon Prime Video.


15 Stuart Hogg - Exeter (Captain)

14 Darcy Graham - Edinburgh Rugby
13 Chris Harris - Gloucester Rugby
12 Sam Johnson - Glasgow Warriors
11 Duhan van de Merwe - Worcester Warriors

10 Finn Russell - Racing 92 (Vice-Captain)
9 Ali Price - Glasgow Warriors

1 Pierre Schoeman - Edinburgh Rugby
2 George Turner - Glasgow Warriors
3 Zander Fagerson - Glasgow Warriors
4 Sam Skinner - Exeter
5 Grant Gilchrist - Edinburgh Rugby
6 Jamie Ritchie - Edinburgh Rugby (Vice-Captain)
7 Hamish Watson - Edinburgh Rugby
8 Matt Fagerson - Glasgow Warriors


16 Ewan Ashman - Sale Sharks
17 Jamie Bhatti - Glasgow Warriors
18 Oli Kebble - Glasgow Warriors
19 Jamie Hodgson - Edinburgh Rugby
20 Josh Bayliss - Bath Rugby
21 George Horne - Glasgow Warriors
22 Adam Hastings - Gloucester Rugby
23 Kyle Steyn - Glasgow Warriors