Glasgow Warriors | Ospreys v Glasgow Warriors

Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

September 14, 2012

Ospreys 10 - 28 Glasgow Warriors

GUINNESS PRO12 match played at Liberty Stadium on Friday September 14th 2012 | No comments

A double from DTH van der Merwe helped Glasgow to a great win in Wales
DTH van der Merwe scored two tries to help Glasgow register their first win of the RaboDirect Pro12 season and condemn defending champions the Ospreys to a third straight defeat.

Flanker Chris Fusaro also went over and outside-half Duncan Weir added 10 points, while the Ospreys' only try came from lock Ian Evans.

For the Warriors, who had previously lost to Ulster and Scarlets, there was a late re-jig to their back-row with James Eddie drafted in at blindside flank and John Barclay replacing Ryan Wilson at No. 8.

The Ospreys started on the front foot but blanket Glasgow defence forced Dan Biggar to launch an up and under, except van der Merwe caught the ball and sprinted 70 metres for the opening try on three minutes.

Weir failed with the conversion and then was wayward with a 45-metre penalty attempt three minutes later.

Scrum-half Chris Cusiter earned a penalty for Glasgow which Weir kicked to extend the visitors' lead to 8-0, but it came at a cost to Cusiter, who was forced off with an arm injury to be replaced by Henry Pyrgos.

With the Ospreys struggling at the set pieces, Glasgow manoeuvred themselves into a couple of try-scoring positions in the second quarter but could not finish them off.

But they did get a second try on 28 minutes when Fusaro pounced on a loose ball and went in at the left corner after Ospreys scrum-half Rhys Webb fumbled a ball at the base of a ruck. Weir converted to give Glasgow a 15-0 lead.

At the other end the Ospreys, plainly low in confidence, butchered an attack in the dying seconds of the half.

The Ospreys tried to get a positive attack going after the interval but were penalised in the Glasgow 22 and Webb was then yellow-carded for a professional foul which allowed Weir to put over his second penalty as the Scots extended their lead to 18-0 on 46 minutes.

Both sides were reduced to 14 when Eddie was sin-binned as the Ospreys pressurised the Glasgow line, which the home side eventually breached when Evans crashed over on 51 minutes, a try converted by Biggar.

But the Ospreys comeback lasted only three minutes before van der Merwe crashed over for his second try, converted by Weir.

Five minutes from time replacement Ruaridh Jackson confirmed the Warriors' win with a penalty after more Ospreys indiscipline.

Glasgow head coach Gregor Townsend told “We’ve said repeatedly in the wake of the Ulster and Scarlets matches that we weren’t far away from delivering the sort of performances and results that the whole club rightly expect.

“As a group, we knew the win was coming, and there is certainly more to come from this team as well.

“Their effort and togetherness tonight were outstanding, not to mention the quality and composure we showed at key junctures.

“We’ve now got Connacht and Zebre at home. Those will be massively tough tests in their own right, but we want to establish Scotstoun as a fortress and give our supporters plenty to shout about.

“We’re looking forward to seeing and hearing them out in force come Friday night, and will be working as hard as we possibly can to give them another win.”

Referee Leo Colgan (IRFU)
Man of the Match DTH van der Merwe
Ryan Grant
Dougie Hall
Michael Cusack
Tom Ryder
Alastair Kellock
James Eddie
Chris Fusaro
John Barclay
Chris Cusiter
Duncan Weir
DTH van der Merwe
Peter Horne
Alex Dunbar
Tommy Seymour
Peter Murchie
Finlay Gillies
George Hunter
Gordon Reid
Adam Ashe
Angus Macdonald
Henry Pyrgos
Ruaridh Jackson
Sean Lamont
Match Substitutions
Off On
Chris Cusiter Henry Pyrgos
Off On
Ryan Grant Gordon Reid
Off On
Peter Horne Sean Lamont
Off On
Dougie Hall Finlay Gillies
Off On
Duncan Weir Ruaridh Jackson
Off On
John Barclay Angus Macdonald
Off On
Michael Cusack George Hunter
Off On
James Eddie Adam Ashe
DTH van der Merwe Try 
Duncan Weir Penalty
Chris Fusaro Try 
Duncan Weir Conversion
Duncan Weir Penalty
DTH van der Merwe Try 
Duncan Weir Conversion
Ruaridh Jackson Penalty