Glasgow Warriors | Leinster v Glasgow Warriors

Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

March 01, 2014

Leinster 28 - 25 Glasgow Warriors

GUINNESS PRO12 match played at RDS on Saturday March 1st 2014 | No comments

Richie Vernon went over for to tries
Glasgow Warriors went down to a narrow defeat to Leinster in Dublin this evening.

The win means Leinster go top of the RaboDirect PRO12 standings.

Ian Madigan converted Rhys Ruddock's 63rd-minute try and kicked 13 points in all as Matt O'Connor's men took advantage of leaders Munster's defeat at the Scarlets.

Returning to the RDS, where they lost to Leinster in last year's semi-finals, Glasgow gave their all in pursuit of only their second victory in 18 visits to Dublin.

Madigan accumulated 11 points and Noel Reid and man-of-the-match Darragh Fanning broke through for tries as Leinster took a 21-15 lead into half-time.

Glasgow showed their attacking capabilities, with two Richie Vernon tries and an injury-time penalty from Finn Russell making it a six-point difference.

Niko Matawalu burrowed over from a ruck for the Warriors' third try with Russell's conversion putting them a point clear after 51 minutes.

But Leinster's pack eventually broke the Scots' resistance, flanker Ruddock muscling over for the decisive seven-pointer on a wet night in the Irish capital.

Both sides were forced into changes before kick-off, with the luckless Luke Fitzgerald replaced in the Leinster line-up by Sam Coghlan Murray and Ed Kalman taking Mike Cusack's place in the Glasgow front row.

Leinster hit the front in the sixth minute, Sean Cronin offloading out of a midfield tackle for Reid to dart into space and he broke Peter Murchie's tackle to raid in beside the posts.

Madigan converted but Glasgow were back level by the 12th minute as Vernon touched down after being fed by Ruaridh Jackson, who took advantage of Jack McGrath's missed tackle.

Russell's successful kick tied things up at 7-7 before Leinster retook the lead by the end of the first quarter thanks to a Madigan penalty.

But a Warriors try from only their second visit to the hosts' 22 stung O'Connor's side, who were made pay for some sloppy defending.

Tommy Seymour tested the Leinster rearguard out wide before the Scottish outfit recycled swiftly for big centre Vernon to barge over to the right of the posts. Russell failed to convert this time.

Leinster used their forwards to steady the ship, with the accurate Madigan knocking home two penalties to make it 16-10.

The Irish province sensed a try before the interval and, after Ruddock went close from a maul effort and Eoin Reddan was stopped short, slick hands from Madigan and Zane Kirchner released winger Fanning for a simple finish in the right corner.

Madigan's conversion attempt fell narrowly wide to the left and the Warriors squeezed in a late three-pointer from Russell, who punished Jordi Murphy for going offside.

Josh Strauss bulldozed his way through the Leinster defence to give Glasgow the first sniff of a try in the second half, and television match official Alan Rogan confirmed the grounding by Matawalu from a close-in ruck.

Russell's kick made it 22-21 to the visitors as they looked for a repeat of their 2011 win here.

Again, though, Leinster's put Glasgow under sustained pressure and Ruddock managed to stretch over in the right corner.

Madigan topped off the try with a fine kick from the right and, although Glasgow responded with a late Russell penalty, Leinster wore down the clock to take the win.

Referee Nigel Owens (Wales)
Attendance 16,800
Gordon Reid
Pat MacArthur
Ed Kalman
Tim Swinson
Jonny Gray
James Eddie
Robert Harley
Josh Strauss
Chris Cusiter
Ruaridh Jackson
Nikola Matawalu
Finn Russell
Richie Vernon
Tommy Seymour
Peter Murchie
Fraser Brown
Jerry Yanuyanutawa
Jon Welsh
Leone Nakarawa
Tyrone Holmes
Henry Pyrgos
Mark Bennett
Lee Jones
Match Substitutions
Off On
Gordon Reid Jerry Yanuyanutawa
Off On
Ed Kalman Jon Welsh
Off On
Josh Strauss Leone Nakarawa
Off On
Robert Harley Tyrone Holmes
Off On
Tommy Seymour Lee Jones
Off On
Pat MacArthur Fraser Brown
Off On
Chris Cusiter Henry Pyrgos
Off On
Richie Vernon Mark Bennett
Richie Vernon Try 
Finn Russell Conversion
Richie Vernon Try 
Finn Russell Penalty
Nikola Matawalu Try 
Finn Russell Conversion
Finn Russell Penalty