Glasgow Warriors | Leinster v Glasgow Warriors

Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

April 28, 2017

Leinster 31 - 30 Glasgow Warriors

GUINNESS PRO14 match played at RDS on Friday April 28th 2017 | No comments

Finn Russell put Warriors ahead before a late penalty snatched the win for Leinster
Glasgow Warriors were edged out by a late Leinster penalty in tonight's PRO12 match in Dublin.

Dominic Ryan and Rory O'Loughlin scored within the first ten minutes as the hosts enjoyed a quick start in their final home game of the regular season - an effort that included a record-breaking score.

Peter Dooley ensured a third came before the break, but Warriors fought back with Adam Ashe's try early in the second half while Lee Jones and Finn Russell crossed to put the Scots into the lead.

But it proved not enough in the most dramatic of circumstances as Leinster moved eight points clear ahead of Munster as Joey Carbery kicked the decisive penalty, with a home semi-final already guaranteed in their bid to lift the Guinness PRO12 trophy - all after the lights went out in Dublin.

However it was the Warriors who were on the board first as Peter Horne kicked three simple points from the tee to make the most of his side's early pressure.

The rest of the opening stages belonged to the Irish side though, as Noel Reid set Adam Byrne away, with Ryan the man finding the gap to cross after just a few minutes.

Following that came a moment of Guinness PRO12 history, as O'Loughlin crossed after confirmation from the TMO - the 652nd score of the season, the most the competition has ever seen.

Glasgow were not going to give up in their bid for a strong finish to the campaign however, with Horne once again kicking expertly from the tee to close the gap to 12-6 from the ten-metre line.

Leinster responded in kind though thanks to Ross Byrne's penalty, and a killer blow came five minutes before the end of the first half as Dooley crashed down when he profited from a maul off the lineout.

That gave the hosts the half-time lead at the RDS, but it was to be cut very quickly after the break as Ashe bundled over, once again rewarding a quick start to the half for the Warriors.

But Leinster's bid for a bonus point was not to go without its reward as Zane Kirchner crossed on the hour mark with Reid and Byrne once again pulling the strings at the RDS for the bonus point.

Still Warriors kept pushing though, narrowing the gap to 28-23 as a superb break from Ali Price at halfway saw the ball eventually in the hand of Jones, with the wing making no mistake to set up a thrilling last 15 minutes.

And a superb turnaround was completed when the Scots took the lead for the first time since the opening minutes with some rugby deserving of taking the advantage.

Russell was the man to finish off a brilliant move, stretching and holding on to slam the ball onto the turf, converting his own kick to move into a 30-28 lead, with just five minutes left to play.

Leinster showed exactly why they are top of the pile however, as Carbery kicked a penalty with the clock rapidly ticking down, embarking on a one-point ball game.

But just as it looked as though Leinster would hang on to the win, Glasgow kicked a penalty deep into home territory, only for the turnover to lead to a huge slice of relief in Dublin.

Just as it seemed nothing else could add to the drama, the lights went out in the RDS Arena - with just 90 seconds left to play in a crucial finale.

When play eventually restarted Glasgow were in possession, but they couldn't quite do enough to force the points, left on the wrong end of a 61-point thriller.

Referee Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Alex Allan
Fraser Brown
Sila Puafisi
Brian Alainu'uese
Jonny Gray
Tim Swinson
Chris Fusaro
Henry Pyrgos
Peter Horne
Lee Jones
Sam Johnson
Nick Grigg
Leonardo Sarto
Tommy Seymour
Pat MacArthur
Gordon Reid
Zander Fagerson
Robert Harley
Matt Fagerson
Ali Price
Finn Russell
Alex Dunbar
Match Substitutions
Off On
Brian Alainu'uese Robert Harley
Off On
Sila Puafisi Zander Fagerson
Off On
Alex Allan Gordon Reid
Off On
Henry Pyrgos Ali Price
Off On
Fraser Brown Pat MacArthur
Off On
Peter Horne Finn Russell
Off On
Nick Grigg Alex Dunbar
Off On
Adam Ashe Matt Fagerson
Peter Horne Penalty
Peter Horne Penalty
Adam Ashe Try 
Peter Horne Conversion
Peter Horne Penalty
Lee Jones Try 
Finn Russell Conversion
Finn Russell Try 
Finn Russell Conversion