Glasgow Warriors | Vodacom Bulls v Glasgow Warrior

Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

June 22, 2024

Vodacom Bulls 16 - 21 Glasgow Warriors

United Rugby Championship match played at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday June 22nd 2024 | No comments

Kyle Steyn lifts the URC Trophy (
Glasgow Warriors are URC Champions after fighting back from 13-0 down to beat Vodacom Bulls 21-16 in a gripping Grand Final at Loftus Versfeld.

Tries from Scott Cummings, George Turner and Huw Jones were all converted by George Horne as the Warriors secured a famous triumph in South Africa on Saturday.

Marco van Staden scored the Bulls' only try of the game as Johan Goosen added points off the tee as the hosts came up short in the final for a second time in three seasons.

Two Goosen penalties separated the sides before Van Staden's try, converted by Goosen, gave the Bulls a 13-0 lead.

Glasgow hauled themselves back into the game on the stroke of half-time when Cummings powered his way over the line, with Horne adding the extras.

Goosen's third penalty extended the Bulls' lead to nine points but tries from Turner and Jones, both converted by Horne, ensured the Warriors would emerge triumphant.

The Bulls, who had lost only one of their last 12 URC matches at this venue, led inside 100 seconds through Goosen's penalty.

A second successful kick followed before Wilco Louw was denied a try by the TMO, who deemed he was held up by Rory Darge.

But the Bulls were not to be denied moments later when Van Staden barged his way through the Glasgow defence, with Goosen landing the conversion.

Glasgow responded well and gave themselves a lifeline moments before the break when Cummings went over and Horne converted.

Buoyed by that score, Glasgow came out strong in the second half but another Goosen penalty brought some relief to the Bulls.

A few minutes later, though, the Warriors cut the deficit to just two points when Turner, on his last appearance for the club, went over from a maul, which Horne converted.

Jones then grabbed Glasgow's third try, with Horne again successful from the tee, to lead for the first time in the game before Jack Dempsey was denied another by the TMO.

Horne was just short with a long-range penalty attempt but Glasgow had to see out the final moments with 14 players after Tom Jordan was yellow-carded for a high tackle on Francois Klopper.

Bulls pressured right to the end but Warriors held firm to be crowned champions.

Referee Andrea Piardi (Italy)
Man of the Match Matt Fagerson
Jamie Bhatti
Johnny Matthews
Zander Fagerson
Scott Cummings
Richie Gray
Matt Fagerson
Rory Darge
Jack Dempsey
George Horne
Tom Jordan
Kyle Steyn
Sione Tuipulotu
Huw Jones
Sebastian Cancelliere
Josh McKay
George Turner
Nathan McBeth
Oli Kebble
Gregor Brown
Euan Ferrie
Henco Venter
Jamie Dobie
Duncan Weir
Match Substitutions
Off On
Jamie Bhatti Nathan McBeth
Off On
Johnny Matthews George Turner
Off On
Richie Gray Gregor Brown
Off On
Sebastian Cancelliere Jamie Dobie
Off On
Rory Darge Henco Venter
Scott Cummings Try 
George Horne Conversion
George Turner Try 
George Horne Conversion
Huw Jones Try