Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow team to face Sharks

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

October 01, 2021

Glasgow team to face Sharks

Posted by Editor on October 1, 2021 10:47 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Ross Thompson makes his first competitive start in front of the Warrior Nation
Danny Wilson has names his Glasgow team to take on the Sharks at Scotstoun tomorrow afternoon (ko 3.05pm).

Wilson has made five alterations to his starting lineup for what will be the first competitive fixture in front of fans at Scotstoun since February 2020.

A nine-try thriller in Belfast last time out ultimately went against the Warriors, despite taking a four-try bonus-point away from the Kingspan Stadium in addition to their tally for losing by less than seven points.

It will be an all-new front-row that takes to the field for kick-off tomorrow afternoon, as club co-captain Fraser Brown packs down between Jamie Bhatti and Murray McCallum at the coal face.

An unchanged second-row sees Richie Gray and Scott Cummings pair up once more, having provided a menacing presence at the lineout last weekend.

Tom Gordon comes into the starting XV at openside following a knock to Rory Darge, the flanker joining Ryan Wilson and Jack Dempsey in the back-row.

Ross Thompson makes his after being selected at fly-half, with George Horne partnering the young pivot in the half-backs.

Sione Tuipulotu makes his competitive home debut at outside centre after impressing on his first start for the club last weekend, as the 24-year-old starts alongside Sam Johnson in the Glasgow midfield.

The back-three all retain their places in the starting XV, which sees Kyle Steyn and Rufus McLean flank full-back Cole Forbes.

FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy tight-head Murphy Walker is in line for his professional debut after being selected amongst the replacements, with the 21-year-old having impressed in FOSROC Super6 action for Stirling County in recent weeks.

Back-rower Ally Miller will also make his first appearance in Glasgow Warriors colours should he come off the bench tomorrow afternoon, after the former Scotland 7s star was selected for the first time since his summer move from Edinburgh.

Brad Thyer rotates to the bench after starting last time out, whilst George Turner returns to a Glasgow matchday squad for the first time since last season's victory over Leinster at Scotstoun.

Lewis Bean wears the number 19 jersey, with Jamie Dobie retaining his spot after his try-scoring cameo off the bench last weekend.

The matchday squad is rounded out by Peter Horne and Stafford McDowall, both of whom could make their first appearances of the 2021/22 campaign tomorrow afternoon.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Wilson told "We're looking forward to being back in front of a packed out Scotstoun tomorrow afternoon.

"There were a lot of positives to take and some things to work on from last weekend's game against Ulster we were really physical and played some high tempo rugby, scored some really good tries.

"Tomorrow a couple of boys get their first opportunity of the season to showcase what they're about. We're looking forward to seeing the likes Ally and Murphy take their opportunities when called upon

"Sharks are a big physical side with some serious gas on the wings. We're exciting by the challenge they pose and we'll need to match their physicality in both attack and defence to come away with a win."

Glasgow Warriors

15 Cole Forbes

14 Kyle Steyn
13 Sione Tuipulotu
12 Sam Johnson
11 Rufus McLean

10 Ross Thompson
9 George Horne

1 Jamie Bhatti
2 Fraser Brown
3 Murray McCallum
4 Richie Gray
5 Scott Cummings
6 Ryan Wilson
7 Tom Gordon
8 Jack Dempsey


16 George Turner
17 Brad Thyer
18 Murphy Walker
19 Lewis Bean
20 Ally Miller
21 Jamie Dobie
22 Peter Horne
23 Stafford McDowall

Unavailable for selection: Simon Berghan, Sebastian Cancelliere, Rory Darge, Matt Fagerson, Zander Fagerson, Oli Kebble, Kiran McDonald, Ewan McQuillin, Domingo Miotti, Enrique Pieretto, Ali Price, Ratu Tagive, Duncan Weir