Glasgow Warriors | Eleven Warriors in Scotland A team

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

June 23, 2022

Eleven Warriors in Scotland A team

Posted by Editor on June 23, 2022 03:27 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Matt Fagerson returns to action after injury
Gregor Townsend has selected eleven Warriors in his matchday 23 for Scotland A's clash with Chile in Santiago on Saturday night, in what marks the inaugural meeting between the two countries.

The first match of Scotland's 2022 summer tour, the fixture marks the first time Scotland A have played a competitive fixture since a 16-16 draw with England Saxons at Scotstoun in February 2014.

Jamie Bhatti starts at loose-head for his first outing in the dark blue shirt this calendar year, having last been involved in a Scotland matchday 23 in November's win over Japan at BT Murrayfield.

Scott Cummings returns from injury to start in the second-row, after being sidelined since mid-April after sustaining a knock in the win over Newcastle Falcons.

Similarly, Matt Fagerson makes his return to action after a spell on the sidelines, the number eight packing down in the back-row for the clash in Santiago.

George Horne will partner Ross Thompson in the half-backs, while Sione Tuipulotu is selected at inside centre, with the midfielder also named as vice-captain by Head Coach Gregor Townsend.

The back-three sees Rufus McLean included on the wing with Ollie Smith starting at full-back.

After missing out on initial selection for the touring party, Johnny Matthews is named on the bench after being called up to the squad prior to departure for South America.

Murphy Walker pulls on a senior Scotland shirt for the first time, with the former Dundee Eagle named as the replacement tight-head by Townsend and his coaching team.

Ali Price completes the Glasgow contingent, the 2021 British and Irish Lion providing cover at scrum-half.

The non-cap fixture is live on Premier Sports this weekend, with kick-off at 9.00pm BST.

Scotland A

15 Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors)

14 Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby)
13 Matt Currie (Edinburgh Rugby)
12 Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) (Vice-Captain)
11 Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors)

10 Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors)
9 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors)
2 Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby)
3 Javan Sebastian (Scarlets)
4 Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby)
5 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Ben Muncaster (Edinburgh Rugby)
7 Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) (Captain)
8 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby)
18 Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors)
19 Glen Young (Edinburgh Rugby)
20 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby)
21 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)
23 Mark Bennett (Edinburgh Rugby)