Glasgow Warriors | Scotland team to face Australia

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

October 27, 2022

Scotland team to face Australia

Posted by Editor on October 27, 2022 02:36 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Ollie Smith makes his first Scotland start at Murrayfield
Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has selected 10 Glasgow Warriors in his matchday 23 for Saturday evening's clash with Australia at Murrayfield (ko 5.30pm).

Amongst the Glasgow contingent is back-rower Jack Dempsey, who could make his Scotland debut off the bench against the nation of his birth this weekend having completed World Rugby's mandatory three-year stand-down period after previously represented the Wallabies.

There's also a first start at BT Murrayfield for full-back Ollie Smith, after the 22-year-old made his senior international debut in the third Test against Argentina during the summer.

Five of the 10 Warriors can be found in the starting XV, with Ali Price named as vice-captain alongside starting at scrum-half.

Sione Tuipulotu joins Price and Smith in the back-line, as he wins his eighth cap by lining up at inside centre.

In the pack, Zander Fagerson packs down at tight-head, having won his 50th cap during the 2022 summer tour to South America.

Matt Fagerson completes the Glasgow cohort in the starting lineup, starting at number eight after a barnstorming summer tour in the dark blue jersey.

Front-row duo George Turner and Jamie Bhatti join Dempsey amongst the replacements, both men having been involved in last November's 15-13 victory over the Wallabies at BT Murrayfield.

Ross Thompson is included amongst the replacement backs, the fly-half set to win his fourth cap if and when he comes off the bench on Saturday evening.

George Horne rounds out the contingent of Warriors, after being selected for his first senior Scotland appearance since last November's clash with South Africa at BT Murrayfield.


15 Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors)

14 Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby)
13 Mark Bennett (Edinburgh Rugby)
12 Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby)

10 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)
9 Ali Price - Vice Captain - (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby)
2 Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby)
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby)
5 Grant Gilchrist - Vice Captain - (Edinburgh Rugby)
6 Jamie Ritchie - Captain - (Edinburgh Rugby)
7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby)
8 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)


16 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors)
18 WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby)
19 Glen Young (Edinburgh Rugby)
20 Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors)
21 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors)
23 Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby)