Glasgow Warriors | Tuipulotu makes URC Elite XV

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

May 11, 2023

Tuipulotu makes URC Elite XV

Posted by Editor on May 11, 2023 02:11 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Sione Tuipulotu has been selected in the 2022/23 BKT United Rugby Championship Elite XV
Sione Tuipulotu has been selected in the 2022/23 BKT United Rugby Championship Elite XV, after a season that saw the centre become a midfield staple for both club and country.

The centre is the sole Glasgow player included in the team, which includes representatives from 11 of the 16 teams in the competition.

All five participating nations were represented in the United Rugby Championship Elite XV for the 2022/23 season.

Ireland accounted for six of the 15 players selected, which were determined by a media vote, with four coming from South Africa, two each from Scotland and Italy and one from Wales.

A total of 11 teams - and seven of the top eight sides - had at least one player included, with Leinster leading the way with three.

Dan Sheehan, who pipped OFX Top Try Scorer Tom Stewart to the hooker position, Scott Penny and Ross Byrne were nominated - the latter the only player to have made the Elite XV for two successive seasons.

Defending champions the DHL Stormers had Daniel du Plessis and Steven Kitshoff in the team while Connacht duo Finlay Bealham and Niall Murray were also chosen.
Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Simone Gesi (Zebre Parma), Gavin Coombes (Munster), Vaea Fifita (Scarlets), Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) and Federico Ruzza (Benetton) made the cut as well.

Players had to have made a minimum of nine appearances to be considered, with the media panel given a shortlist of 10 players per position, provided by URC StatMaster. The player with the most votes in each position earned a place in the team.

URC Elite XV

15: Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls)

14: Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby)

13: Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors)

12: Daniel du Plessis (DHL Stormers)

11: Simone Gesi (Zebre Parma)

10: Ross Byrne (Leinster)

9: Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks)

1: Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers)

2: Dan Sheehan (Leinster)

3: Finlay Bealham (Connacht)

4: Niall Murray (Connacht)

5: Federico Ruzza (Benetton)

6: Vaea Fifita (Scarlets)

7: Scott Penny (Leinster)

8: Gavin Coombes (Munster)