Glasgow Warriors | Johnson called into Barbarians squad

Next article
Previous article
No more entries
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

May 23, 2023

Johnson called into Barbarians squad

Posted by Editor on May 23, 2023 10:11 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Sam Johnson has been added to the Barbarians squad to Face a World XV
Departing Warrior Sam Johnson has been added to the Barbarians squad for Sunday's Killik Cup match against a World XV at Twickenham.

Johnson, whose departure from Glasgow Warriors after eight years was announced earlier this month, has been called up along with Japan wing Taichi Takahashi. The initial squads were announced last week with Glasgow representation in both. Johnson will be joined by Warriors forwards Enrique Pieretto and Sione Vailanu in Eddie Jones' Barbarians side, while Fraser Brown, Allan Dell and Oli Kebble are all in the World XV squad which will be led by Steve Hansen, the former All Blacks coach. Adam Hastings, the Scotland international stand-off and former Glasgow player, is also part of the World XV group.


Forwards: Nic Dolly (Leicester Tigers and England), Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Stephan Lewies (Harlequins and South Africa), Steven Luatua (Bristol Bears and New Zealand), Enrique Pieretto (Glasgow Warriors and Argentina), Carlu Sadie (Cell C Sharks), Rob Simmons (London Irish and Australia), Harry Thacker (Bristol Bears), Sione Vailanu (Glasgow Warriors and Tonga), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons and Wales), Alex Waller (Northampton Saints), Tom West (Leicester Tigers), Kai Yamamoto (Tokyo Sungoliath).

Backs: Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys and Wales), Quade Cooper (Hanazono Kintetsu Liners and Australia), Aaron Cruden (Tokyo Sungoliath and New Zealand), Francois Hougaard (Saracens and South Africa), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Samu Kerevi (Tokyo Sungoliath and Australia), Tevita Li (Tokyo Sungoliath), Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs and England), Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons and England), Taichi Takahashi (Toyota Verblitz and Japan), Seta Tamanivalu (Toshiba Brave Lupus and Fiji).


Forwards: Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Niccolo Cannone (Benetton and Italy), Elliot Dee (Dragons and Wales), Allan Dell (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Harry Hockings (Tokyo Sungoliath), Wyn Jones (Scarlets Rugby, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Michele Lamaro (Benetton and Italy), Viliame Mata (Edinburgh and Fiji), Jordi Murphy (Ulster and Ireland), Sebastian Negri (Benetton Rugby and Italy), Api Ratuniyarawa (London Irish and Fiji), Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs).

Backs: Bryn Hall (Shizuoka Blue Revs), Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby and Scotland), Israel Folau (Urayasu D-Rocks and Tonga), Ngani Laumape (Kobelco Kobe Steelers and New Zealand), Sbu Nkosi (Vodacom Bulls and South Africa), Rhys Patchell (Scarlets and Wales), Nick Phipps (Green Rockets Tokatsu and Australia), Charles Piutau (Bristol Bears and Tonga), Semi Radradra (Bristol Bears and Fiji), Kaminieli Rasaku (Aviron Bayonnais and Fiji 7s).