Glasgow Warriors | Scotland make changes

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

February 22, 2024

Scotland make changes

Posted by Editor on February 22, 2024 07:33 PM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Kyle Steyn returns for Scotland
Head coach Gregor Townsend has made three changes to Scotland's starting line-up for Saturday's Six Nations clash with England at Murrayfield (KO 4.45pm).

Blair Kinghorn, Kyle Steyn and Jamie Ritchie return to the team after missing out against France with Kinghorn making his first appearance of the championship having previously been ruled out through injury.

Winger Steyn was a late absentee against France on account of his wife going into labour, with flanker Ritchie returning to the back row having started the opening weekend win over Wales in Cardiff.

Full-back Kinghorn and Steyn join winger Duhan van der Merwe in the back three for the Calcutta Cup encounter, as Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones continue at in the centre.

Co-captain Finn Russell partners Ben White, who scored the opening try last time out, at half-back.

Ritchie's return complements a back row also containing co-captain Rory Darge at openside flanker and No 8 Jack Dempsey.

The forward pack's front five is unchanged as Grant Gilchrist and Scott Cummings form the second row pairing, behind a front row comprising Pierre Schoeman at loosehead prop, hooker George Turner and Zander Fagerson at tighthead.

The replacement options remain the same for the second game in succession, with scrum-half George Horne, stand-off Ben Healy and centre Cameron Redpath covering the back division.

Ewan Ashman (hooker), Alec Hepburn (loosehead prop) and Elliot Millar-Mills (tighthead) are joined by Sam Skinner and Andy Christie, who will cover the rest of the forward pack.


15 Blair Kinghorn - Toulouse (50)

14 Kyle Steyn - Glasgow Warriors (16)
13 Huw Jones - Glasgow Warriors (45)
12 Sione Tuipulotu - Vice-Captain - Glasgow Warriors (24)
11 Duhan van der Merwe - Edinburgh Rugby (36)

10 Finn Russell - Co-Captain - Bath Rugby (77)
9 Ben White - Toulon (20)

1 Pierre Schoeman - Edinburgh Rugby (28)
2 George Turner - Glasgow Warriors (42)
3 Zander Fagerson - Glasgow Warriors (64)
4 Grant Gilchrist - Edinburgh Rugby (69)
5 Scott Cummings - Glasgow Warriors (35)
6 Jamie Ritchie - Edinburgh Rugby (47)
7 Rory Darge - Co-Captain - Glasgow Warriors (16)
8 Jack Dempsey - Glasgow Warriors (17)


16 Ewan Ashman - Edinburgh Rugby (14)
17 Alec Hepburn - Exeter Chiefs (2)
18 Elliot Millar-Mills - Northampton Saints (1)
19 Sam Skinner - Edinburgh Rugby (32)
20 Andy Christie - Saracens (5)
21 George Horne - Glasgow Warriors (27)
22 Ben Healy - Edinburgh Rugby (4)
23 Cameron Redpath - Bath Rugby (11)