Glasgow Warriors | Glasgow team to face Vodacom Bulls

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

June 21, 2024

Glasgow team to face Vodacom Bulls

Posted by Editor on June 21, 2024 11:14 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Nathan McBeth returns to the Glasgow squad
Glasgow head coach Franco Smith has named his team to take on Vodacom Bulls in the URC Grand Final tomorrow (ko 5.00pm, UK time).

Having booked their place in a first league final since 2019 with a memorable victory over Munster at Thomond Park last weekend, the same starting lineup will run out in front of a sold-out crowd of over 52,000 in Pretoria, with thousands of the Warrior Nation roaring on their team from fan zones and rugby clubs back in Glasgow and across Scotland.

Zander Fagerson anchors the scrum at tight-head having played every minute of the BKT URC playoffs so far, Jamie Bhatti and Johnny Matthews joining the ever-present prop in the front row.

Scott Cummings and Richie Gray continue their partnership in the engine room, the pair having caused havoc at the lineout for Munster at Thomond Park last time out.

Matt Fagerson - a try-scorer on Glasgow's last visit to Pretoria - starts on the blindside, as Rory Darge and Jack Dempsey, who reaches a half-century of appearances in a Glasgow shirt, make it an all-international pack once again.

Behind the scrum, George Horne starts at scrum-half, with Tom Jordan pulling on the number 10 jersey for his 50th appearance for the club after an all-action performance in Limerick last Saturday.

Sione Tuipulotu continues at inside centre after his Player of the Match-winning performance in the semi-final, linking up with Huw Jones in the midfield for the fourth successive fixture.

Kyle Steyn will lead the team from the wing, as Sebastian Cancelliere - another to have touched down on his most recent visit to Loftus Versfeld - and Josh McKay complete the back-three.

The only two alterations to the matchday 23 come amongst the replacements, one of which sees Nathan McBeth return to the squad after completing his return to play protocols following a head injury sustained against the DHL Stormers.

George Turner and Oli Kebble join McBeth in their final outing for Glasgow Warriors before moving on to pastures new this summer, the pair bringing over 200 appearances worth of experience to proceedings off the bench.

Max Williamson and Euan Ferrie are each selected for their first taste of a Grand Final in Glasgow colours, as Henco Venter completes a six-two split of forwards and backs amongst the replacements.

Duncan Weir is the only other change to the matchday squad, as the fly-half - the only survivor from the 2015 title-winning squad joins Jamie Dobie as the backline cover for tomorrow's clash.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Smith told "The Bulls are a high-quality team who have great experience in finals rugby, with a squad that possesses talent across the board.

"They have a proud home record and will be looking to make home advantage count in front of a sold-out Loftus Versfeld.

"We know that we must focus on ourselves and our game plan, and we know that the Warrior Nation will be behind us no matter where they are."

Glasgow Warriors

15 Josh McKay

14 Sebastian Cancelliere
13 Huw Jones
12 Sione Tuipulotu
11 Kyle Steyn (Captain)

10 Tom Jordan
9 George Horne

1 Jamie Bhatti
2 Johnny Matthews
3 Zander Fagerson
4 Scott Cummings
5 Richie Gray
6 Matt Fagerson
7 Rory Darge
8 Jack Dempsey


16 George Turner
17 Nathan McBeth
18 Oli Kebble
19 Max Williamson
20 Euan Ferrie
21 Henco Venter
22 Jamie Dobie
23 Duncan Weir

Unavailable for selection: Fraser Brown (knee), Allan Dell (arm), JP du Preez (knee), Ally Miller (calf), Alex Samuel (head), Ollie Smith (knee), Lucio Sordoni (foot), Sione Vailanu (knee).