Glasgow Warriors | Scotland U20 side to face Italy

Next article
Previous article
Got an opinion?
Discuss this article in the comments section or register with the forum.

Search this site

March 17, 2023

Scotland U20 side to face Italy

Posted by Editor on March 17, 2023 11:01 AM | No comments | Print | E-mail author

Ben Afshar starts for Scotland U20
Four of Glasgow's Academy contingent will take to the field at Scotstoun on Sunday afternoon, as Scotland conclude the 2023 U20 Six Nations campaign at home to Italy.

The Scots will look to bounce back from last weekend's heavy defeat to Ireland as they round off a campaign that has seen them claim a first win in the competition since 2020, with Kenny Murray's men hosting the opening match of the final-round U20 Six Nations triple-header.

Ben Afshar returns from injury to start at scrum-half, having missed the fixtures against France and Ireland due to a hand injury sustained in the win over Wales.

Duncan Munn once again co-captains the side, the former Loch Lomond RFC centre having played all bar eight minutes of the championship thus far.

Harris McLeod rotates to the bench after starting last time out, as the second-rower wears the number 19 jersey.

Ben Salmon completes the quartet of Glasgow academy talents selected in the matchday 23, the Stirling Wolves man having made his U20 Six Nations debut off the bench last weekend.

Glasgow and the west of Scotland are once again well represented outwith the Glasgow Warriors academy, with Glasgow Hawks pair Eben Cairns and Kerr Yule, GHA number eight Jonny Morris and Ayrshire Bulls fly-half Richie Simpson all selected in the matchday squad.

Kick-off at Scotstoun is scheduled for 2.00pm on Sunday.

Scotland U20

15 Dan King** (Heriot's Rugby)

14 Kerr Johnston** (Boroughmuir Bears)
13 Duncan Munn* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (CC)
12 Kerr Yule** (Glasgow Hawks)
11 Geordie Gwynn (Ealing Trailfinders/Brunel University)

10 Richie Simpson (Ayrshire Bulls)
9 Ben Afshar* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors)

1 Craig Davidson (Watsonian FC)
2 Jerry Blyth-Lafferty** (Boroughmuir Bears)
3 Eben Cairns** (Glasgow Hawks)
4 Eddie Erskine (Bath University)
5 Ruaraidh Hart** (Glasgow Hawks)
6 Liam McConnell* (Boroughmuir Bears/Edinburgh Rugby) (CC)
7 Sam Derrick** (Southern Knights)
8 Jonny Morris** (GHA RFC)


16 Corey Tait** (Boroughmuir Bears)
17 Max Surry (Cardiff Met University)
18 Robbie Deans* (Watsonians/Edinburgh Rugby)
19 Harris McLeod* (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
20 Ewan Guy (Cardiff Met University)
21 Charlie Clare (Harlequins/Surrey University)
22 Ben Salmon* (Stirling Wolves/Glasgow Warriors)
23 Will Robinson (Caldy RFC)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player
**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player